Re-Invention Of Self

Good evening all,

Allow me to re-introduce myself.

I am Crystal L. Burks. I am a Bachelor degree holding graduate of Michigan State University. I am a parent of a wonderful and terrible, two year old boy. I am an Aquarius whose birthday is January 28th. I can be a social butterfly and a hermit. I can be both ambitious and lazy. But one thing I remain to be is passionate.

I watch basketball, baseball, football, tennis and wrestling. I love to write, to sing and watch movies and cartoons. I love listening to music and am an avid fan of the late 90s to early 2000s.

I was born in Merrillville, Ind. I lived in Gary, Ind. for the first 9 months of my life. My mother moved to Lansing, Mich. and we lived there until my parents divorced in 1991, when I was 6. I was raised by my father from that point forward. We migrated east to the Ann Arbor/Ypsilanti area where I’d graduate from Lincoln High School in 2003. As I stated previously, I wen to Michigan State.

I am a woman and black. This is who I am and where I’m from.

What am I here for? I love to write. I love to give my opinion. But most importantly, I love to get the opinions of others. My goal was to begin a career in journalism, not only because I love to write, but because people’s voices need to be heard, other than the “haves.” I’ve spoken with all different levels of people from ethnic, creed, sexual orientation, socio-economic, gender and career. I engage readers not only with what my topic of choices are, but with the information I gather from my sources. I’m a researcher first, a reporter second.

My ultimate goal is to begin a podcast with live stream and my own magazine; where I can give young Journalism, Marketing and Public Relations students chances to have internships and a place to work where their passion lies.

This blog will cover a multitude of topics. But it will be an organized one. Specific Days for specific topics. I am here to stay! And Happy MLK Day to you all and until tomorrow….. *deuces*

3 thoughts on “Re-Invention Of Self

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I hope you achieve your dreams one day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kaycris says:

    I read the majority of your post! Keep it up. Iwill be looking out for more post from you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

