Reality TV

My first ever poetic duet. I hope you all enjoy it.
____________________________________________

In a relationship that may have been doomed from the start,
I handed you the remote control to my heart
Because even without rings, in my dreams you would sing
The song of til death do us part
When in actuality in reality you chose to set the DVR
And said you’d get back to loving me later

To outsiders it appeared that we were on the same channel
People watched us and became envious
But they had no idea that we were stuck on the same station
Replaying the same episodes
Rewinding old outcomes and never celebrating
Because our series was seemingly cancelled

And yet I still waited, though I often contemplated
That our first step toward a future of forevers, would never take place
Even with the proof that Cupid is known for playing favorites
I held on, convinced that because I had waited for so long
Your heart would soon return from its extended hiatus,
Catch up to mine before it ran out of memory
And forgot what real love felt like

Then like a flash of lightning it struck me all at once
We were headed for syndication, with only one episode left
I extended my hand for the controls I gave you
Only to find you had sat the remote down a long time ago
With nothing left to hold on to, there was but one thing to do
Take a bow, bid farewell and recapture what initially belonged to me

And with the remaining shards of my heart still visible on my sleeves,
I slowly step back into the blackness of this new reality,
And as the credits roll I still hear that song from my dreams, and I bid you adieu,
With hopes that no one is ever chosen to replay these roles,
And their hearts are never pained from being exposed
To this same script, with them as the different cast.

On my first ever poetic duet, I was fortunate enough to work with Mr. Jay Sand. Check his blog out at http://sandersjames.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

