Depression Kills

You all may not recall this, but I spoke about how stress kills. Well, depression kills as well. I know what it’s like to feel all alone when you are around people. Being alone is totally different than feeling alone. I am incredibly saddened by the death/suicide of Robin Williams. He was beyond talented. It is often said that the funniest and happiest of comedians, are also the saddest.

Kevin Hart said it best, “Laugh at my pain.” Just because they are celebrities and there’s that stigma that money cures all…. it doesn’t.

In the wake of this loss, a fellow human being on facebook, who is also facing depression, posted this poem. It is deep and I wanted to share it. His page is https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008261284961

“What do you call it when all you feel is pain?
When your loved ones look at you and all you feel is shame?
When your tired of living and playing this game?
when you know your life is meaningless and your the only one to blame?

What do you call it when the hurt is in your soul?
When you smile and laugh but you know its all a show?
When you feel like you’ve hit your all time low?
When nothing makes you happy and the darkness around you grows?

What do you call it when you feel so alone?
When your in your house but it don’t feel like home?
When you look back in your life and every choice you made now seems wrong?
When the wait to die seems too long.”

I reached out to him and having felt this way, even recently, I contend to this young man that death is a permanent answer to a temporary problem (says my mommy).

One thought on “Depression Kills

  1. Caro says:

    This is another wonderfully written piece.. Just yesterday, I was speaking on this topic and Robin Williams came up.. I agree with you when you say that money is not the cure of all angst and depression and also what I was considering is how Robin had friends and I am assuming access to good doctors and therapists; however, still this tragedy occured! Do you see my meaning? It is just heartbreaking, but knowledge is power. I ty for shedding light here peace caro

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

