Author Highlight: Author Mario D King

Today’s Author Highlight is Mario D. King
Headshot_1

Mario was born and raised in Memphis, Tennessee and currently lives in Charlotte, NC where he writes to change the world one book at a time. His passion for communication and diverse cultures has introduced Mario to a new mission to uplift minds through word and film. His three year goal—to spark an educational revolution through action and literacy. Mario has an urgency in his writing and creation to make change in the world that people can see and literally read. With a passion for literacy, Mario began writing poetry as a teen and has always thoroughly explored the male perspective when it comes to romantic relationships. He received “Shakespeare Trophy of Excellence” and “Poet of the Year” in 2002. He also won the Black Writers And Book Clubs “Author of the Year” award in 2013.

Twitter: @AuthorMDKing
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorMarioDKing
Pinterest: authormariod
Youtube: AuthorMarioDKing
Website: http://www.mariodking.com

The Crisis Before Midlife is out and available on Amazon now!

My review of The Crisis Before Midlife –
5 STARS – Never in a million years did I think I’d read a book that could make me go through every emotion imaginable. I cried, I laughed, I was upset, I was happy, it was just as if I was literally the main character. Amazingly enough, I could relate to a lot that Malcolm was experiencing and going through. The book was very well written, and I was drawn to each person, from Ali and his struggle to find truth, to Malcolm coming to God and finally deciding what he wanted in his life, to Kameesha and Navil’s genuine loving and strong personalities. I like how Mario was able to capture 5 years of life without dwelling on one situation but still capturing highlights and providing enough information that the reader could still follow the story. I look forward to many more books from Mario.

CHECK OUT THE EXCERPT!!!
Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00001]

It was 4:00 p.m. and Malcolm was still grading papers. Sitting alone in the classroom, Malcolm got up and began pacing the floor. He stared at the bulletin board that measured the progress his students were making. He began to smile. Then he shook his head as he looked out the window and saw Mrs. Johnson and Mr. Stockwell get into their vehicles. Both Johnson and Stockwell were the eldest teachers at the school. Some teachers complained that the two didn’t have the passion to teach anymore and their methods were now outdated. Walking back to his desk, he noticed Navil waving in the doorway. He motioned for her to come in.

“Why are you still here on a Friday?” Navil asked. “You should be out doing something besides burying yourself in work.”

“Hey, I’m trying to get work done so I won’t spend all weekend thinking about it.”

“I understand, brother.” Batting her eyes, she continued, “Do you want some company around? I don’t have any significant plans.”

Shrugging his shoulders, Malcolm replied, “Your choice.”

With her almond-shaped eyes looking directly at Malcolm, she said, “Brother, for the record, I think that you’re the best teacher at this school. I really feel bad. How are they letting quality teachers go when there are some teachers here just collecting a paycheck?”

Not looking up at Navil as he was reading over some paperwork, Malcolm replied, “I’m cool; really I am. I’m not messed up about it. I appreciate the concern.”

There was indeed a lot on Malcolm’s mind. He very seldom let anybody know what he was thinking. He was one of those brothers who could keep everything to himself without showing any signs of stress. From his writers’ block, Destiny’s mother, the piercing questions from his mom, and now losing his job, Malcolm was at his wits end.

Sitting back in his chair, Malcolm placed both hands behind his head as he swiveled back and forth in his chair. “Navil, I know you have something better to do than sit here with me and watch me grade papers while I drown in my sorrow.”

“Brother, I’m looking out for you. I got plenty of things I could be doing. I’m trying to make sure that you don’t sit up here all night on a Friday burying yourself in work.”
Navil then walked behind the desk and proceeded to pull on Malcolm’s arm. “Okay, Negro, I didn’t want to do this, but we gotta go.”

Malcolm tugged his arm away and groaned, “Navil, what are you doing? I have to get this stuff done.”
Hooking her arms under his, she tried to lift Malcolm up. “Come on—let’s go grab a bite to eat, and I have something that will help you clear your mind.”

Malcolm cracked a smile and shook his head. “You are a persistent little thing, aren’t you?”

Navil just stood there with her arms crossed as she smiled.

Malcolm let out a long and deep sigh. He swiveled his chair in the direction Navil was standing. He folded his arms and replied, “Okay—okay—you win. I give up.”

Malcolm began to pack his things and followed Navil out the door.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00001]

Leave a Reply

