Author Highlight: Interview With Nigeria Lockley

Nigeria Lockley_Author (640x426)

Nigeria Lockley possesses two Master’s degrees. Her first Master’s is in English Secondary Education, which she utilizes as an educator with the New York City Department of Education. Her second Master’s degree is in Creative Writing. Born at Dawn is Nigeria’s first published novel. Nigeria serves as the Vice President of Bridges Family Services, a not-for-profit organization that assists student parents interested in pursuing a degree in higher education. She is also the deaconess and clerk for her spiritual home King of Kings and Lord of Lords, Church of God. Nigeria is a New York native who resides in Harlem with her husband and two daughters. Join her online at http://www.NigeriaLockley.com

BORN-AT-DAWN-FRONT

Like Nigeria on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorNigeriaLockley
Follow Nigeria on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/NewNigeria
Follow Nigeria on Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/NewNigeria
Google +: https://plus.google.com/+NigeriaLockley

When did you decide to write books?
Well, I always wanted to be a writer and back in 2007 I began writing my first novel, Born at Dawn. I decided that if I wrote a page a day I would have a book within a year. Of course, I didn’t stick to that. Sometimes I went days without writing and then there were days that I wrote pages and pages.

When did you become Save(d)?
I initially gave my life to Christ as a teen when the Lord intervened in a family matter. When the church that I had been attending obtained another a pastor who did not seem to be of the Lord my family and I left the church and subsequently I left the Lord. In 2005 I came back to the Christ and backslide again only to return in 2007 and truly there is no turning back for me at this point now.

How did you come to choose Christian Fiction?
When I gave my life to Christ I went on a writing hiatus and Born at Dawn just sat in a binder because I didn’t know how to use my writing to glorify Christ and then I read Michelle Stimpson’s novel, Boaz Brown. I was inspired and blessed and knew that I could use my writing to glorify God. I spent some time in prayer and when I felt in my spirit that I had received the green light from God I marched straight ahead.

How difficult is it to write in this genre?
When you rely on God to be your inspiration, your writing coach–basically, your everything it takes the hard work out of it. There certainly are days when I face the regular writer woes, ‘I’m not good enough.’, ‘I’m not talented enough.’, ‘Is this really what the Lord wanted me to write?’, but then He sends confirmation and I keep on going.

When was your first book published? What is your next book?
My first novel, Born at Dawn was published in September of 2014. My next novel, Seasoned with Grace is scheduled to be released July 28, 2015 and I have a novella, Tempted to Touch that is coming soon. For details and samples of my work you can visit http://www.nigerialockley.com.

If Nigeria isn’t at church, writing or at work, what does she do with her free time?
Free time? I don’t know what that is. I am guilty of not having a hobby or engaging in any recreational activity. Between my two kids, two careers, two student loans, and a husband free time is hard to find. When I can sneak in some down time I do delight in watching Keeping Up with the Kardashians and The Good Wife.

3 thoughts on “Author Highlight: Interview With Nigeria Lockley

  1. mihrank says:

    well done – Bravo!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nlockley says:

    Thank you, Crystal for having me in the spotlight.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nlockley says:

    Reblogged this on Nigeria Lockley and commented:
    The Neophyte Author is on Journalistic Expressions. Check out my interview. Get to know me a little better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

