G – Gone

“Gone” by Kanye West featuring Cam’Ron and Consequence

I’m ‘head of my time, sometimes years out. So the powers that be won’t let me get my ideas out. And that make me wanna get my advance out and move to Oklahoma and just live at my Aunt’s house. Yeah, I romance the thought of leavin it all behind, Kanye step away from the lime-light, like, when I was on the grind in the “One, Nine, Nine, Nine.” Before, model chicks was bendin over or dealerships asked me Benz or Rover, man if I could just get one beat on Hova we could get up off this cheap-ass sofa. What the summer of the Chi got to offer an 18-year-old, sell drugs or get a job, you gotta play gyro. My dawg worked at Taco Bell, hooked us up plural, fired a week later the manager count the churros. Sometimes I can’t believe it when I look up in the mirrow, how we out in Europe, spendin Euros. They say you never know what you got ’til it’s GONE. I know I got it, I don’t know what y’all on. I’ma open up a store for aspiring MC’s won’t sell ’em no dream, but the inspiration is free. But if they ever flip sides like Anakin, you’ll sell everything includin the mannequin. They got a new bitch now you Jennifer Aniston. Hold on I’ll handle it, don’t start panickin, stay calm. Shorty’s at the door cause they need more inspiration for they life, they souls, and they songs. They said, “sorry Mr. West is gone!”

I am not a current aka THIS NEW Kanye West fan. But when he was thirsty and when he was hungry, that’s when he said some of the realest stuff. This song, “Gone” comes from the “Late Registration” album. This song was sooo much to me back then and even now. I tend to look at the deeper meaning of songs and he SPOKE to me. Every single lyric in the above verse. Let me break it down in my terms.

It just shows his hunger and his frustration from being held back from his greatness. This song inspires me on so many levels. I love it!

Leave a Reply

