Author Highlight: Interview With Xyla Turner

XylaTurner-transparent

 

Xyla Turner was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. She is an avid reader of romance novels and a sucker for sassy females and dominant males. She is a lifelong learner, Vice-Principal at a Brooklyn High School and a pretty good Auntie. Outside of reading, Xyla likes to spend time with her family and friends, experiment with dangerous adventures and travel. She writes different genres, but her favorite is contemporary romance. Xyla has her Bachelor’s degree in Education and Masters in Education Administration.

Website: www.xylaturner.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Xyla-Turner
Twitter: https://twitter.com/XylaTurner
Instagram: xylaturner
Amazon Author: http://www.amazon.com/Xyla-Turner/e/B00VK3NAS0
GoodReads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/xylaturner
Mailing List: http://eepurl.com/bfltf9
Facebook Fan Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/xylascrusaders/

GETTING TO KNOW XYLA

What genre are you writing in? What made you pick it?
Well, my first two books will fall under Fiction, Romance, African-American, my next three books will fall under Fiction, Romance, Interracial/Multi-cultural. I picked these genres because it’s what I know. I’m a closet romantic, love happy endings and wish the world operated like these books do sometimes. I also picked this genre, because at first I could not find many books in the platform that I was using, because this was my primary reader. So, when I started writing I came across so many other authors that wrote the same, which was encouraging. Especially the ones that took the time to give me a hand.

Do you have a go to writing spot?
Yes. When I’m at home, it is usually at my desk or the couch. However, I also write on the bus or train, if I have a place to sit.

What’s on your to read list?
Whew, my list is growing as I’m writing more and reading less. To date, I have the following on my list:
Haunted by Christina C. Jones, Hopeless by Colleen Hoover, Destined by Perri Forrest, Damaged by S. Diggs, Just Friends by Delaney Diamond, Faith – Her Love Story by LaShawn Vasser, ObsessionS.K. Lessly, PremonitionsBrynette L. Turner, Rock HardAlana Sapphire, Somebody Else’s HusbandPatti Doss, Even the Bluest EyesYara Kaleemah, Black OutLila Rose

What can your readers expect from you in the future?
Well, readers can expect me to push their romantic buttons, but also deal with issues of community, education, sexual exploration, consequences, race relations, and much more. The characters will be diverse, unique and relatable.

Do you have a blog?
Yes, it’s on my website www.xylaturner.com

Use one word to describe yourself.
Ambitious!

Are you working on any other titles?
Yes, I have five complete books that are going through beta readers, editors, and getting ready to be published. The next title is The College President, which will be released on May 27th and the one after that is called Bombshell and that will be released on July 15th.

When you aren’t writing or at work, what do you do with your free time?
In my spare time, you’ll find me with friends, family, nieces and nephews. I also like to various things including sky diving, painting, taking helicopter lessons, Kickboxing and sometimes reading or watching TV.

 

eBook-Cover

The Chase: The Double XX Series Part 1 EXCERPT

He raised an eyebrow at me, “So, are you here to rip out his heart again, because if you are, you can take your sexy ass back on the elevator and leave him alone. I won’t let you do that to him again. He was heart-broken for two fuckin’ weeks when you completely cut him off and then you come back, I see him, he looks great and then you break his heart again. That’s not fucking love. I don’t care how smart and caring you are, what kind of twisted shit is in your head, woman?”

I stepped back at his verbal assault. My face was suddenly hot, like he had just slapped me. I almost stepped forward to slap him back. Apparently he was waiting for my answer to his idiotic question.

I lift my index finger up, “First of all, who the fuck do you think you are talking to? You do not know me from shit and I do not appreciate your fucking tone and especially since you don’t have all the facts.”

My middle finger joined the index as I take a step towards him. “Second of all, how dare you interfere in our relationship, play-boy? What the fuck do you know about love? You would not know what love looked like if it was staring you in the face.

The ring finger joined the others as I take another step towards him. Matthew was starting to look a little nervous, but I did not care as my voice became louder, “Thirdly, I didn’t break his heart twice, asshole. He gave me an ultimatum and dumped me. I came to get him back, because I am, in fact, falling in love with him. So, thank you very much.”

By the time I finished my countdown, I was in his face, and standing on my toes while he leaned back. He held up his hands in surrender, “Whoa, street fighter, calm down.”

There was a loud giggle, causing Matt and me to turn around. My eyes were not prepared for what I saw, because I would have kept my ass home. Xavier was down the hall, staring at both of us with scrunched eyebrows, while a blond hair woman was running her hand up his chest and BITING his ear.

Matthew mumbled, “Oh, shit.”

Stumbling back, because I had to get out of there, I almost tripped. Matt caught me, holding me close to him. I grabbed on to his shirt to keep my balance, then pushed away. My legs started to move towards the elevator, but Xavier was on the move. In a desperate attempt to get out of there, I started to run and thank God for Matt, because he grabbed Xavier, while the doors closed. The last thing I heard was Matt telling Xavier, “Let her go man, you don’t want to do this here.”

 

Leave a Reply

