Author Highlight: Interviewing Author Sheena Binkley

Today’s Author Highlight is Author Sheena Binkley.

2013-03-09 20.00.38-1

Sheena Binkley first discovered her love for storytelling when writing her first story for a class project at the tender age of nine. Since then, she has composed several short stories and numerous tales that are not only engaging, but simply entertaining. She is also a freelance writer, penning articles on various topics including education and entertainment. In November 2014, she signed her first publishing deal with Write House Publishing under “Tiece Presents.” Her first book with the publisher, “Something Just Ain’t Right” was released in January 2015. Besides writing, she loves reading, shopping, and spending time with family and friends. She lives in Houston (where the weather is always unpredictable) with her husband and son.

Blog: http://sheenabinkley.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sheenabinkleyauthor
Twitter: @ChevonBink
Mailing List: http://eepurl.com/U1gqj

What was the inspiration behind the Something Just Ain’t Right Series?
This book was originally going to be an indie release and had the typical good girl/bad boy type scenario that most New Adult books have. When I signed with my publisher last year, I decided to change it up and have that element along with a bit of suspense. This series is very different from what I’m used to writing, but I’m pretty proud of how great it turned out to be.

When did you decide to actually get published?
It was two years ago when my mom passed away. It was then when I realized that life is too short to worry about “what ifs;” so I wrote a novella and submitted it through an independent publisher and that was how my writing career started.

What advice to you have for newcoming authors?
My advice is to stay humble and always be grateful for the talent that you have. Also, there will be some naysayers, so do not let anyone discourage you from your dreams. You have to always remember why you started writing, because you love it; therefore, always stay positive with achieving your dreams.

What character, that you have written, do you like the most?
That’s a tough one because I love all of my characters, lol. But the one that stands out the most for me is Riana from my indie series, Love, Life, & Happiness. She kind of reminds me of myself because of her personality. She’s a little shy, but can be outspoken when she needs to be, just like me.

What are the pros and cons of writing?
The pros of writing is actually writing. If given the choice, I would write all day, but of course, I do have other priorities. The cons of writing is writer’s block. There has been days when I can’t get a good scene going, which prevent me from writing. Usually when that happens, that means I have to take a break and do other things to get my mind back into writing mode. When I do, I have a lot of great ideas which makes for good material.

What can we expect from Sheena Binkley?
I do have a couple of projects in the works, including a spin-off series from Love, Life, & Happiness which involves one of the character’s older siblings. I’m currently working on the second book in the series. I also have another spin-off coming from another of my indie series, In Love With My Best Friend, as well as a brand new series that I’m writing on right now.

Tell the readers something unique about yourself.
Before becoming an author, I was interested in being a news reporter. I was even an anchor for my college TV station, which was pretty fun to do. I met a lot of interesting people and enjoyed being in front of the camera. I still considered doing it now, but in writing, either in newspaper or magazine.

SJAR3

In the past two months, Morgan Carter and Hayley Stevens has been through a lot, from threats to kidnappings to shootings. The two have dealt with so much. They realizes as long as they are together nothing will tear them apart. However, after Hayley’s shooting, Morgan realizes that in order to protect the ones closest to him that he may have to do something drastic which could tear the two apart.

When a series of lies are exposed about the one person he trusted, Morgan has to do what he can to protect not only himself, but also Hayley. Will the two be able to stay together and make things work, or will things crumble around them which could lead to someone not making it out alive?

Find out what happens in Something Just Ain’t Right 3, the final conclusion to this series.

One thought on “Author Highlight: Interviewing Author Sheena Binkley

  1. chevonbink says:

    Reblogged this on Sheena Binkley and commented:
    Today, I’m being spotlighted by author C. Lynette on her blog. Check it out! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

