Author Highlight: Author Cara Addison

In honor of the Siren’s Sinsational Summer event: Part One of Today’s Author Highlight is Author Cara Addison.
-viewer discretion is advised as this author does erotica-

CaraAddison profilepic

Cara was born and raised in Southern Ontario. She has utilized her drive, tenacity, ambition and out-of-the-box thinking to ascend the Canadian corporate ladder and shatter the proverbial glass ceiling. As the CEO of a government firm, Cara prefers to be out in the trenches, working to provide solutions rather than sitting behind a desk. While she loves to succeed in her work, she issued an impromptu challenge to herself that led her to sit down one day and write a piece of fiction that was worthy of publication.

Being an avid daydreamer since childhood, she transferred her own wit and humor to the narrative and dialogue of the characters that resided in her imagination. The words poured onto the page and within weeks, she had a full-length novel with characters, events and situations that were influenced by the people and places in her everyday life.

First published in February 2014, Cara now has a growing catalogue of novels. Her playful, clever, and sometimes naughty banter resonates with male and female readers alike.

Her titles include: “Passion, Power, and Privilege”, “Going The Distance”, “The Fortuitous Pen”, “Unwanted Attention”, “The Guardian”, “Every Second Weekend”, “Loans Lust and Lies”, “Indulging Her Fantasy”, “Beyond The Chute”, “Her Sultry Eyes”

You can find Cara online at http://www.caraaddison.com where you can read excerpts and reviews of her novels.
Tweet Cara at http://www.twitter.com/FortuitousPen
Like Cara at http://www.facebook.com/authorcaraaddison
Friend Cara at http://www.goodreads.com/cara_addison

SirenSinsational interview

1. How much of you do you pour into your characters, as far as personality is concerned?
It isn’t intentional, but I find that I introduce a lot of my own personality traits, and interests into my characters. I tend to write female characters that are strong, ambitious, driven, creative, and have a great sense of humour. I try to draw a subtle correlation between these traits and the success my characters enjoy. Like they say, you write what you know.

Austin Campbell is one of my favourite characters. When I created her, I was unpublished, so writing her as a Canadian author of romance novels was pure fiction. Now, Austin is a little bit of art imitating life. Don’t worry, there is still plenty of fiction in Austin’s character. She’s had adventures and made decision that I would never have made.

2. If you could re-write any fictional book and add an erotic twist to it, what would it be and why?
I am a huge fan of Tom Clancy’s novels. The Hunt For Red October, Patriot Games, Clear and Present Danger, and The Sum of All Fears have all captivated me. The entire series with Jack Ryan would be so much fun to write, read, and watch with an erotic twist. Let’s face it, Jack Ryan’s character has been portrayed on screen by some pretty hot men. Wouldn’t we all like to imagine them between the sheets?

3. Who or what is your inspiration to write?
Honestly, my inspiration is fuelled by my own personal need to succeed. I’m driven by the need to accomplish goals. I abhor failure and I loathe mediocrity.

4. Congrats on your newly released book Unwanted Attention! What is it about?
Unwanted Attention is the third novel profiling the lives of Austin Campbell and Brett Tanner. Their story began after a hot and sexy meeting in Going The Distance and continued as they embarked on life together in The Fortuitous Pen.

As a writer of erotica romance novels, Austin has successfully written and published close to two dozen novels. In her publicity and promotional efforts, she’s met thousands of well wishing fans. Brett is a successful investment banker with the prestigious firm of Goldman Sachs. His career is demanding of his time and his attention, but Austin’s independent enough to cope with his long hours.

When their first child arrives, Austin takes a break from writing and promoting to enjoy baby Ella. When a message about the unannounced birth of their daughter appears in Austin’s inbox, it has the couple wondering just how personal their private lives really are.

Brett’s concern over the escalating attention from a cyberstalker has him rallying Bunny, Nicolas, and Austin’s Canadian friends to join together to protect his adoring wife and baby Ella from the unwanted attention that has turned real-time when Ivan Varga confronts Austin in person.
After months of gathering evidence, Austin finally has her day in court to face the delusional fan that erroneously believes a fictional piece of writing is about their future lives together. Courtroom drama rises to a new level when Austin takes the stand.

5. Why erotica versus contemporary romance?
Quite simply, it was the erotic content that was rattling around in my head when I decided to start writing. When I challenged myself to sit down and write a piece of fiction, it was the steamy stuff that poured out onto the page. For me, it’s a distinct part of each character’s personality. Their sexual experience and interests shape their approach to relationships. To me, that’s a part of character development.

6. Do you have any advice for new erotica authors?
Even if you plan to self-publish, do some research into the best practices and standards of publishing. Become familiar with the Chicago Manual of Style. Pick a reader type and write for that audience. Keep writing and keep working on your craft.

7. Tell us something unique about yourself.
Well, I’d like to think that everything about me is unique.
Three fun facts:
1. I’m Canadian so I use a superfluous U in words like savour, flavour, clamour, favourite, behaviour, and fervour.
2. I LOVE beautiful heels. My collection of shoes is my secret love.
3. I’ve been struck by lightning. Three times. I know, it’s shocking!

I’d like to thank Ms. Cara Addison for allowing me to blog and ask question and pry into her life. If being struck by lightning is any indication, her writing must be electric!!!

2 thoughts on “Author Highlight: Author Cara Addison

  1. hutt1234 says:

    Awesome Interview and Great Looking Page !!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Cara Addison and commented:
    1. How much of you do you pour into your characters, as far as personality is concerned?
    It isn’t intentional, but I find that I introduce a lot of my own personality traits, and interests into my characters. I tend to write female characters that are strong, ambitious, driven, creative, and have a great sense of humour. I try to draw a subtle correlation between these traits and the success my characters enjoy. Like they say, you write what you know.

    Austin Campbell is one of my favourite characters. When I created her, I was unpublished, so writing her as a Canadian author of romance novels was pure fiction. Now, Austin is a little bit of art imitating life. Don’t worry, there is still plenty of fiction in Austin’s character. She’s had adventures and made decision that I would never have made.

    Like

Leave a Reply

