Author Highlight: Author Shatika Turner

Today’s Author Highlight is Author Shatika Turner.

10172845_695353897174469_6959824890172431620_n

Shatika Turner is the author of three works: The Ill Truth, A Fem’s Playground and A Fem’s Playground 2: Game Over. She is also the owner of Little Lady Promotions; a social media-based promotion company. She currently resides in NY. She has an Associate’s degree in Liberal Arts and is currently going to college to obtain a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management. Her future plans are to mentor the youth and do public speaking.

Social media:
Twitter: @authorsturner
Instagram: @authorsturner
Facebook: Shatika Turner or Author Shatika Turner

1185818_573253702720362_1474876707_n

Patience
Here I was three years later and doing my thing. Shade decided that she wouldn’t press charges because, in her words, that’d be too easy. After she got released from the hospital, she made sure to text me and let me know that her plans at revenge were going to be sweet. I laughed at every text, she was not that stupid, she knew I had ears everywhere and pull with everyone. I could pretty much get myself out of any situation. However I was grateful that no police were called and Shade or her ugly bitch didn’t hurt me. I hadn’t seen Shade since it happened, but my BFF sees her all the time and every time she tells me how I did a number on her. As much as I wanted to kill her for hurting me I am so glad that I didn’t.

After I caught Shade cheating, it changed my perspective of love and relationships. In my mind, it no longer existed. For months after that, I questioned what the meaning of love was. I thought I had looked it in the face for two years, slept next to it. I was dead wrong. She never loved me and I wouldn’t allow myself to believe otherwise.

I sold the house that we lived in and moved into a house in a cul-de-sac in a nice part of East Moriches, NY. There were never any financial worries after Shade left because the firm I worked for was doing well. I had my back all day, every day. I drove a nice crème colored Mercedes Benz and could partake in any luxury I desired. Even with that said I learned not to spend money like water. I was a wealthy 28 year old woman that budgeted, saved and put away.

The life that I lived allowed me to have my pick of women. I didn’t flash money to make them come to me, I just simply spoke. There was no need to flaunt my money in women’s faces because I wasn’t planning on pursuing anything with them. Dine ‘em, do ‘em, ditch ‘em and dismiss ‘em was my motto. I let them know upfront that there was no love, relationship or titles involved after we had sex. If they couldn’t get down with that, they could not get down with me.

NEW

Patience

“911, what’s your emergency?”

“My girlfriend… my girlfriend, she has been shot.” I choked out between sobs.

“Ma’am, do not move her. Is she breathing? Does she have a pulse?”

That is the last thing I remember hearing before passing out. That was two weeks ago and the scene kept replaying in my head like a nightmare. That bitch, Desiree had tried to take my baby’s life.  What did I do to deserve this? Better yet, what did she do to deserve this?  I had tried so hard to keep Blaze out of my web of drama though I never knew Desiree was capable of anything that she had done. I admit that bitch had massive balls and they hung pretty low; but I had enormous balls and they swung. She could run but she couldn’t hide. Karma was going to get her but I was going to end her.

In 50 words or less, what is A Fem’s Playground about?
A Fem’s Playground series features multiple characters that face challenges similar to ones that are faced in the LGBT community. This series surrounds love, sex and betrayal and is slightly rough around the edges BUT there is a lesson intertwined in the pages.

Are you self-published or part of a publishing company?
I am part of Diamante Publications.

Who are some authors that you read?
I read Ben Burgess Jr., Arkeya Keys, Nikishia Mock, and K.S. Oliver. There are many more.

Put together your dream anthology: what would be the genre, who would be the authors and why?
My dream anthology would be women’s fiction. The authors would be T.C. Littles, Arkeya Keys, K.S. Oliver because all of these authors have books with strong female characters.

Describe yourself in three words.
I would describe myself as strong, determined and generous.

Where do you see yourself in five years?
In five years, I see myself as being a well-known author and a mentor to younger kids doing speaking engagements.

Who would you say welcomed you with open arms when you had your first book published?
Ni’chelle Genovese and Maurice “Author First” welcomed me with open arms when I first published my poetry book and I will never forget all the advice they gave me.

Leave a Reply

